THIS DAY IN SCIENCE: 1st Controlled Powered Flight in 1852

Select Page


There are eight planets in the solar system in two distinct groupings. The four inner terrestrial planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars) are very small and relatively close together. The outer planets or gas giants (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune) are very large and far apart from each other. This activity presents a scale model that illustrates the vast differences in the sizes of the planets and their distances from the Sun.

Related Resources:

Join Now
Website Feedback
close slider