Land Acknowledgement

STAO/APSO recognizes that its work, and the work of its members take place on traditional Indigenous territories across the province.

We acknowledge that there are 46 treaties and other agreements that cover the territory now called Ontario.

We are grateful to the First Nations, Metis and Inuit people who are stewards of the land and serve as vital contributors to Ontario society. STAO is privileged to collaborate with its Indigenous educators, stakeholders, and partners.

This land acknowledgement serves not just as a first step towards reconciliation, but our commitment to work towards ongoing justice, respect, inclusion, and dignity for all. STAO encourages everyone to learn about traditional lands, Treaties, cultures, and the teachings of Indigenous people local to their region.

If you would like to use this language in your own presentation, please copy and paste the text above or download a preformatted slide below.