STAO Awards

STAO/APSO is proud to recognize and honour members who make significant contributions to quality Science and Technology education. For a complete list of STAO award recipients, please click here.

Each year, members of STAO/APSO may nominate their colleagues for one of the following six STAO/APSO Awards:

  • STAO/APSO Life Member Award
  • Irwin Talesnick Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Science
  • Jack Bell Award For Leadership in Science Education
  • STAO/APSO Emeritus Award
  • STAO/APSO Merit Award
  • STAO/APSO Service Award

Download a PDF document containing the complete Awards Terms of Reference.

Please click here to fill in a nomination form.

Complete it and return to the Chair of the Awards Committee in one of the following ways:


  1. Email: Awards Committee
  2. Send it in the mail to:

STAO/APSO Awards Committee
62 Starview Cres
Guelph, ON
N1E 6Z8


Don Galbraith Pre-Service Teacher Award of Excellence


Don Galbraith is a respected member of STAO and this award was named to recognize his many contributions in the field of science education. The Don Galbraith Pre-Service Teacher Award of Excellence is awarded to Pre-Service Teachers who demonstrate:

  • Exceptional commitment and creativity in their science preparation and teaching
  • Willingness to try different instructional methods
  • Confidence in the classroom
  • Skill at researching a topic using a wide variety of available resources and producing high quality curriculum materials
  • Interpersonal skills that are common to all effective teachers

Don Galbraith Award submissions are submitted by invitation directly to STAO. For more information about the Don Galbraith Awards, please contact